A Beer With Jesus

How’d you turn the other cheek?

Do you hear the prayers I send?

What happens when life ends?

When you comin’ back?

I was out and about this past weekend running errands and taking care of typical weekend things. It’s summer in “Pure Michigan” which can only mean the music is turned up and the windows are rolled down, and while blasting my favorite county music station this song by Thomas Rhett came on the radio.

Besides the fact that it’s Thomas Rhett and everything that comes from his mouth is pure gold, this song had struck a chord with me in that moment and aside from hearing this song numerous times I was challenged to listen to what the lyrics were saying. “If I could have a beer with Jesus…”

Well shoot.

What a groundbreaking moment that would be! Ill be the first to admit im not a perfect man – I have my faults, my sins, my imperfections. For starters, my faith makes me question my ability to merely stand in His presence. What could someone like me even think to ask the God of the universe? The truth, at least for me, is that that level of understanding is far beyond my mental capacity at the moment. Last time I checked, “what’s your favorite color” isn’t an adequate inquiry to the creation of this world.

Listen to the Thomas Rhett song I have posted above. I’ve listed a few of the questions in the song to get the juices flowing.

It’s such an interesting topic where the sky is the limit, and I have found that my own spiritual growth has been fueled by this kind of reflecting. If you could have a beer with Jesus, what would you ask? What would you want to know?

For me, it goes beyond the obvious of knowing who I will marry, what is purpose(s), why [insert name] had to die so young. These are all great questions, but dig deeper. Why did I date my ex-girlfriend and what exactly was I supposed to learn from that? Why did I meet this person at a bus stop 4 years ago and we’re still friends to this day? Why do Chineese people make the best food?

But seriously…

We all need to be challenged if we want to grow, and our Christian faith is no different. Finally, when you come up with these questions, its time to ask. So grab a beer… find some space… and pray.

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking in anything.” – James 1:2-4

B

Video courtesy VEVO and Thomas Rhett

Posted on June 4, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’ll be the first to admit, that country music may or may not be my least favorite thing. ever.
    But good grief, I’m sitting here at my desk and tears are flowing.
    Thanks for sharing this B. It struck a chord with me, too 🙂

Leave a Reply

