Jesus and Jimmy Johns

Rock Harbor

“… why don’t we pray to God with the same faith that we have in that 17 year old. ” – Travis Radaz (1:09:45)

This past Sunday I went to church. Now, for me, this is not an unusual thing to do on a Sunday morning. For the past three years or so, I have discovered the comfort and wisdom that comes with hearing the word of God in the company of fellow community members and close friends. I like to think that I have it all figured out, but as I have described in past blog postings, there are seasons where life meets you at a high point and there are times when reality smacks you in the face and successfully humbles you right there on the spot.

This past Sunday was one of the later.

Why don’t we pray with the same faith that we have in a 17 year old delivery driver from Jimmy Johns? If you’re up to it, I encourage you to watch the above message summed up perfectly by a dear friend of mine (Travis Radaz) at the end – click on the above picture and it will redirect you to the actual video. If you’re like me, you find comfort in the things you have the ability to control. Personally, I like to control those little irrelevant details in a my personal relationships. I try to control my personal image – my personal “brand” if you will. I do my best to control health related issues. The list goes on of things that I try to control that, in all reality, are beyond my reach.

Do you ever find yourself just praying out loud? Maybe in the car on the way to an important interview, or on the way to your significant others house to have that conversation you really don’t want to have. While you’re praying these prayers, do you truly believe in your heart that you are talking to the God of the universe? Do you genuinely believe that what you say matters in the eyes of the creator and that, despite our idea of good timing, He loves to provide for us and come through right at the moment when we thought nobody could.

I found myself doing this just the other day. I was driving home from a stressful day at work and got to thinking about futuristic things because, well, that’s just what I do. So I turned the music down and started to just speak out loud in the solitude of my own car. I began to ask God for wisdom, guidance for my future, peace of mind in the situation, and to just be there in the moment. And about halfway through my spiel I felt.. unsuccessful? No. I felt yet alone as if no one was even listening. I didn’t believe God was listening. We’ve all experienced that spiritual high, the kind you get on a weekend retreat, where it doesn’t matter what you say or how you even say it, but you have full confidence and faith that God is right there listening. Almost as if you could pray and ask for a pizza and in no time at all you would have a deep-dish supreme from Jets right there in front of you.

Spiritual high or not, God is there. Do you really believe that as Jesus hung there on the cross crying out, “… my God my God, why have you forsaken me?” (Mat 27:46) he was shouting to the air?! I’d like to believe not.

How can we bring that kind of faith to the table every… single… day….? Try praying to the King of the universe with the level of faith that you have in the #5 Vito without onions and honey mustard.

It can be life-changing

-B

 

 

 

 

 

Posted on February 12, 2014, in Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

